Making Goals Real

Entrepreneurial Quote of the Day:

“If you don’t know where you’re going, you’ll end up someplace else.”  ~ Yogi Berra

Hello Fabulous Women!

2010 is more than half over.  I don’t know about you, but I find that extraordinary and more than a little unsettling!

Unsettling can be good, though – when we are uncomfortable, unsettled, jarred out of our usual routine, there’s an opportunity to make things happen, to take a leap forward in our lives.  Growth doesn’t come from complacency, it only comes from stretching and moving out of our comfort zones, including the discomfort and even pain of realizing we have not yet achieved our goals.

Whether or not you created goals for yourself and your business at the beginning of this year, this is a fine time to create some goals for what you want to accomplish by the end of 2010.  Why?  Because there’s no time like the present, of course!

For myself, here are 3 goals I have created that I am committed to achieving before the end of this year:

1) Increase my income by 50% over last year

2) Complete professional training I need for a coaching position I want with a cutting edge business growth company

3) Resolve and heal chronic pain and tightness in my neck and shoulders, through treatment and exercise and changes in habit

What about you?

Ladies, I invite you now to create three or more goals for yourself, and after creating the goals, take on these steps to keep you moving powerfully toward fulfilling them.

For each goal, write down:

1) By when you will achieve it (Example: by the end of November)

2) What action steps you will need to take to make it happen, from little baby steps to larger ones (Example: figure out what results I need to achieve each week to meet my income goal, make appointment with chiropractor to work on my neck)

3) What will it feel like when you achieve this goal – be specific (Ex: meeting my income goal will feel exhilarating and freeing, I will feel very proud of myself and know that I can achieve even more next year.  Relieving chronic pain in my neck will be, quite literally, like a huge weight off my shoulders!)

4) What does it/will it feel like to not achieve this goal – be specific (Example: I feel pressured to be producing more income, worried that we won’t have enough money for college for our daughters, etc)

5) What limiting belief(s) do you have that are not supporting you in this goal?  (Example: I don’t have the discipline to do that, it doesn’t matter that much, this is good enough for now)

6) What empowering beliefs do you have that fully support you in achieving this goal? (Example:  I truly enjoy connecting with people and making a profound difference in their lives, and I’m very good at it, I have the training and skills I need to achieve what I want)

By going through the steps above with each goal, you transform the goal from a wish to a compelling action plan, one that pulls you forward and gives you the support you need to push through when circumstances are difficult.  No matter what your goal, chances are there will be times when it is “not going your way.” Without clarity on your next steps, your reasons for why you want it, and the beliefs you have that hinder or help you, those are the times when we stop and sometimes never get started again.

Make the rest of this year amazing.  Get started now!

Your coach,

–Ann

On Track and On Purpose, Business Coaching for Women Entrepreneurs, Business Woman Coach

2 responses to “Making Goals Real

  1. Pingback: What’s Holding You Back? « Pink Power

  2. Thanks for spreading the word! Great goals you’ve created for yourself, would love to hear what’s changing in your life as you take on being courageous and doing what you truly want.
    Go for it!
    –Ann

Leave a Reply

